top of page

[Humans of YGMBA] #1 Chris Wu - USA

Updated: Aug 18, 2020


Chris Wu - president of Yonsei Global MBA Student Council 2021

Chris Wu is a student at Yonsei University’s GMBA program (graduating class of 2021). Chris comes from Washington State in the USA and graduated from Western Washington University with a B.A. in East Asian Studies. After his undergraduate studies, he taught English abroad in China and Korea. While working as a manager & trainer at an English Institution in Korea, Chris realized his passion for leadership and was interested in further pursuing the cross section of education and business. After deciding to pursue a career shift, Chris applied to Yonsei's Global MBA program. Chris is the President of the GMBA class of 2021’s Student Council.  When he’s not studying he likes making playlists, listening to off-beat comedy podcasts, and cooking.


Who is the person that you look up to the most?

There have been so many people who have helped, coached, or trained me throughout my life, but the person that I look up to most is my grandmother on my mother’s side - or as I call her, Popo. Though I’ve learned about the value of hard work from my parents, teamwork and leadership from sports coaches, and how to communicate and speak publicly from my teachers - it’s my grandmother whom I try to emulate in terms of disposition and general outlook on life. She is a force of positivity and was a huge presence in my childhood. I hope when I become a grandparent that I could have the same positive impact on my own grand-kids that Popo had on me.


What was the best advice that he/she had given you? 

I don’t think I can cleanly package one piece of advice or sound byte that Popo gave me - in general I just think that her attitude on life and her influence on others is something that I hope to have. Of course from her I learned not to waste, or that using Knorr (chicken bouillon powder) in cooking is a secret to make everything taste good - but I think her most important lesson is that knowing and sticking to one’s own values. As a Chinese-American who grew up in the USA at a time that was decidedly less progressive than it is now - she and my grandfather faced their fair share of difficulties that extended well into them bringing up and raising my mother and her two sisters. I think she has taught me to appreciate life and be grateful for what I have - and to be proud of who I am. She’s never shied away from being her authentic self and I hope that is something I could also share. 


How did he/she influence you for the better?

Without the influence of Popo, I’m not sure who I would be today. Not only has she helped shape my interest in cooking and my cultural heritage, but on a deeper level, she encouraged my learning & education, was a source of positive encouragement and she has inspired me since I was still crawling about on all fours. Perhaps the most powerful way she has influenced me for the better is to just realize what is important in life - family, friends, and the relationships we build. Plus - she taught me to make won-tons and there aren’t many problems that can’t be fixed with a big bowl of fried won-tons.

234 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page