top of page

[Humans of GMBA 2022] #9 Katrin Gebelein - Germany



1. What got you into cars and what do you enjoy about them?

I’ve thought that cars were the coolest thing for as long as I can remember. As a child, I would sometimes sit behind the wheel of my parents‘ parked car and dream of driving. Even these days I still sometimes cannot believe that now I can just get into a car and drive, while at that time it seemed like such a far-away dream. When I was finally old enough to get my license, I took to driving pretty naturally and enjoyed it from the first moment. I love driving, especially on the highways back home where there is no universal speed limit. I’m the kind of person who puts on their driving playlist and has a good time even when I’m stuck in traffic.

2. Growing up in Germany, what are your most fond memories?

I grew up in the suburbs and have some very fond memories of spending long summers in my best friends‘ backyards. These days I would not move back to the suburbs even if you paid me good money for it, but as a kid, it was pretty cool to be able to just hop on my bicycle and go spend hours on end with my friends every day. Some other fond memories of mine involve my days at the barn; I started horseback riding when I was five years old and basically grew up there.

3. What made you choose to get your MBA in Korea?

Basically, I grew tired of living in one place and wanted to experience living far away from home. My ideal career includes a lot of traveling and opportunities to work internationally, so it was really important for me to gain some experience living abroad before completing my education and entering the workforce. I have also been interested in East Asian culture for years and really enjoyed the vibe of Seoul as a city when I visited as a tourist, so I decided to try to get my MBA here.

4. What food do you wanna introduce to Korea that you can only find back home?

Oh, there are a few! I miss all of the bread, pastry, and cake variations that we have at home. For example, there are Brötchen (literally "small breads") that are super fluffy on the inside and crispy on the outside, which come in many variations (plain, covered in sesame or pumpkin seeds, rye, ...) and is usually eaten for breakfast with some kind of topping or spread. Another one is Döner (kind of a variation of a kebab sandwich), which is usually my go-to food after a long night of drinking and clubbing. Overall, I miss the big variety of local and authentic international foods that are widely available in my hometown of Cologne.

69 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page