top of page

[Humans of YGMBA] #6 O-seop Sim - South Korea


City University of New York, Hunter College

Majored in Economics, minored in Music.

From South Korea.


Why did you choose Yonsei GMBA?

While I was in college back in NYC, I decided to go to a graduate school because I believed a master’s degree would benefit me eventually. Also, I wanted to start as soon as possible. Therefore, I applied to non-MBA business programs such as master’s in management and entrepreneurship courses. Since I was studying abroad at the time, I only thought about other countries rather than Korea. Hence, I got admitted from U.K. and Australian universities. However, I changed my mind, and decided to attend an MBA program. Therefore, I worked for some time in Korea; thereafter, I applied to MBA programs around the world again. I got admitted from USA and Australian ones. I did not consider Korean ones at that moment.


While I stayed in Korea, however, I found that Korean society is changing dramatically, and is convenient and quite interesting (the potential development/improvement according to economists) to live. Also, I thought about the ROI as well. Eventually, I decided to stay in Korea to have experiences and networks in Korea. I only applied to Yonsei because Yonsei has a good location and image/reputation. Also, Yonsei has the strongest part-time MBA program in Korea unlike the GMBA program which can be debatable amongst universities.


Yonsei GMBA is consisted of more than 60% of international students. For Korean students, it is a good chance to meet the diversity. Also, for the international students, it is a good opportunity to have a unique experience in their lives either they will stay in Korea or go back to their countries.


What do you like about your graduate school life?

MBA programs have variety of class choices; I can learn numerous topics. Beside the coursework, I like the time flexibility. Unlike ordinary work schedules, universities’ schedules have flexibility. I use this time flexibility to learn new skills and have experiences. I was able to visit places that I wanted to go on weekdays. Also, I could learn new skills from one-day class and private academies. Once I start to work again, it is harder to have these kinds of moments. Thus, I try to do many things now. Since this moment is the youngest moment, this opportunity is the once in a lifetime event. I hope everyone learns and enjoys much through this chance. Make yourself better without pressures!

232 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page