top of page

[Humans of YGMBA] #5 Sheau Li Foo - Malaysia

Updated: May 24, 2020


Malaysian-Chinese, Graduated from Tunku Abdul Rahman University College (TARUC),

ACCA Affiliate, has Ailurophobia,

loves roti canai, mango and Korean blood sausage soup 순댓국


What was the most recent thing that made you cry?

The most recent emotional outburst I had was a month ago, on the day of my mother’s birthday. Like usual, I wished her a Happy Birthday, but this time, I couldn’t do it physically because we are more than 2000 miles away. I have a lot of affection for my mom growing up. I still call her pretty nicknames and kiss her on her hands and forehead almost every day. This year, on the day of her birthday, I was at home stressed out with assignments, tests, and presentation preparation.


My twin sister video called me when she was getting ready to celebrate mom’s birthday at home during dinner time (Malaysia is under lockdown so everybody has to stay at home). She custom ordered a beautiful chocolate cake. She was on the phone with me for almost an hour, showing me how my family was getting ready, what they’ve ordered for dinner, how they’ve decorated the dining area, and how is everybody doing. The good thing about having a big family (I have four siblings) is that you don’t feel lonely. I have never felt lonely in my life, even when I was alone or when I am over 2000 miles away. But that phone call that day reminded me how my day and night used to be. How I was used to having my dad walking around the house trying to find something to fix, how I always come home to find my mom cooking in the kitchen or chatting over the phone, how my twin sister is always updating me on her “drama school” (her work), how my younger brother did much more house chores than me and how my youngest sister spends her weekend back at home after a week of college. That phone call reminded me how lonely I am now compared to how my life used to be.


I manage to wish my mom a Happy Birthday through that video call and gave her a kiss that I wish I could do it physically. I could hear the noisy chatters and happy waves of laughter in the background. Suddenly, I felt like an outsider, I felt like I was separated. The call ended and I cried. I felt sorry for not being there with my family and most importantly, I realized how I took all these happiness for granted.


What single event or decision do you think most affected the rest of your life? Was there a turning point in your life?

There are absolutely no days that change my life bigger than the day I watch the Korean drama “Full House” back in 2005 on TV after dinner on a normal school night. I was 11 years old and was glued on the TV, mesmerized by how Song Hye-Kyo's lips movement doesn’t match with the audio voice over. I thought it was part of the acting. It was then I came to know about the language that I fell in love with for more than 15 years and still is, the Korean language.


My love for the language gave me a lot of “first” in life. My first concert, my first blog, my first backpack travel, my first part-time job, my first overseas study, my first employment, and my first out-of-my-comfort-zone student life experience. Sometimes I wonder, what would my life be if I haven’t watch that drama when I was 11 years old. How different my life would be compared to my life now? Or does fate exist? Was this how God has planned my life, whatever I do it would always end up with the life I have now? I truly wonder.

I remember the most unforgettable trip I took with my family when I was 16 years old. It was my first trip to Korea. By the end of the trip, the tour guide asked me how do I feel? I said, “I want to live, study, and work here so bad.” She said, “That’s because you are here to travel, everything is magical. You won’t feel the same if you actually live and work here.” 10 years later, here I am, trying to prove that she is wrong. It is going well so far :)


I've never in a million years imagine that, the one day that change my life forever was a day that was so ordinary.

289 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page