top of page

[Humans of GMBA #5] Jarupa Chiranairadul (Venus) - Thailand



1. Why did you choose Yonsei GMBA and what do you think is the biggest challenge coming from an Engineering background?


Prior to joining Yonsei GMBA, I was a wireline field engineer in an oil and gas service company, who was mainly responsible for leading oil and gas exploration. However, after three years working in the oil fields, I found that most of my impact was still limited to the engineering aspect. I also noticed that my unique approach was influenced by the soft skills training provided by the company through a leadership development program called NextGen, where I encountered people from a variety of cultures and environments from various departments and countries. This experience gave me a new perspective that this was the learning environment where my diverse worldviews could be established, it made me realize that I enjoyed optimizing and problem-solving in business, and later inspired my interest in pursuing an MBA degree.


To formalize my interest, I began researching various MBA programs. One important consideration with regards to my choice of program was that I would like to concentrate on Asian Businesses. Based on this premise, I discovered that Yonsei University offered a Global MBA program focusing on Korean and Asian businesses. As such, this aligned with my goal to eventually work in an Asian environment.


One thing I must admit is that it is not that easy to move from the engineering world to the business world, especially since I am literally an engineer that used to work with only mechanical and calculation kinds of stuff. The biggest challenge for me is at the beginning of the program where I need to study hard to understand business languages that I never ever heard before in my life. Fortunately, thank god that my classmates understood this point and be patient enough to explain that business stuff to me. All in all, I would still say that Yonsei GMBA is a great place for pursuing an MBA degree and experience a culturally diverse environment at the same time.





2. Tell me about your experience having the GMBA classes abroad in your home country


Big thanks to the technology these days that make studying abroad be possible. More importantly, very big thanks to professors that tried hard to deliver the course through online channel and all classmates that try to make the class and group work become as good as possible. Although studying online especially from abroad may sound struggle (especially with the time difference), but with the help of good friends, everything was incredibly smooth.


3. What is one thing that many people don’t know about you?


I am passionate about being a volunteer. This began when I decided to spend my free time during the first year in university as a volunteer to take care of children with cleft lip and cleft palate at Chulalongkorn Hospital. After participating in several volunteering activities, I found that helping people and making a difference is very enjoyable. I also received immense value from the experience of volunteering, meeting new people, and learning new things. Although these days I had less free time to participate in voluntary activities, I registered as a member of the Thai Red Cross Society and Some Hospital Foundations to undertake some volunteer work. My dream is hoping to make a positive impact on society one day.

113 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page