top of page

[Humans of GMBA 2022] #9 Joon Young Park - South Korea



1. What’s it like being a CEO of your own company at such a young age?


As a CEO, I want to say this, "It's very lonely at the top." Being a CEO can be a good feeling at the start, the position and title appear lucrative but with this amazing title comes amazing responsibilities. It's unquestionably the most challenging job I've ever had and it's a role that requires almost around-the-clock demands, but at the same time, it never gets dull. Yes, there are a lot of sleepless nights, a lot of surprises, but with a welcoming night, there's a very satisfying sense of accomplishment when everything works out.


2. What got you investing in the stock market and what fascinates you about it?


It's been six years since I started investing in stocks. When I was in college, I wanted to study money rather than management. So, I persuaded my finance professor to teach me about money and capitalism. As I learned about money, I expanded my insight into the financial market, and in the process, my professor recommended investing in stocks and derivatives. With the professor's help, I achieved a significant return on my investments. I was fascinated by the fact that it could create another stable source of income besides my primary job and tried to learn the insights of investment from parents and others. I feel that investment is essential in the capital market, so I still spend a lot of time studying investment to the extent.




3. When you feel stressed out with work, what is your favorite way to relax?


Originally, I liked to walk around while drinking coffee and look around in department stores. Nowadays, I like to go to the gym or walk on Seokchon Lake.


4. What made you choose to study at Yonsei for your MBA?


I have a dream of leading my company to the top-five companies to work for in Asia in ten years and the top-five companies to work for in the world in another ten years. The title of the company that scored the highest point in any field is certainly greedy, but I think it is also worth the title of the company that I want to work for that company. To achieve my goal and become a successful CEO, I must enroll in an MBA program, and I think that Yonsei Global MBA matches with my goal, which is becoming a successful CEO. Also, watching my elder brother go into the Yonsei GMBA, made me want to take classes in the same school and auditorium. My elder brother in his postgraduate life showed much growth as a manager and this has been a great example to me.

72 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page