top of page

[Humans of GMBA 2022] #7 Matthew Chang - USA




1. What got you into fragrances and what is the most enjoyable part of the fragrance process?


I have always loved perfumes since a very young age. I have very fond memories of being transported by the magic of celebrity perfume ads, and how that translated so well to the product experience for me.


What got me into the craft was a chance visit to a Le Labo store on Garosu-gil. I was early for coffee with a friend, so I decided to look for a gift for my mom. The moment I stepped into the store I was once again captured by the fragrance brand’s magic - the design, the testing, the on-site blending, the personalization.


I was so hooked that I later went back to the store and asked where I could learn to make perfumes, and the manager directed me to the oldest perfumery academy in Korea called GN, where I’ve studied for almost a year now. The rest is history.


When it comes to perfumery, the most enjoyable part is memorizing the aroma compounds, and also wearing my own finalized formulas! Everything in between can be quite brutal when you’re trying to translate an idea into a clear olfactory sensation, sample after sample. Feedback from family and friends, while invaluable, can also be quite tough. Since fragrance is so visceral, it is hard to lie about whether or not you like it!



2. What are your favorite scents and why?


My favorite perfume is Le Labo’s Thé Noir 29. I also really love rosemary oil. My mom used to always have a bottle of it in the dining room, and whenever I needed a mood lift, I would get a quick whiff of it - it is such a therapeutic scent in a way that is also sophisticated.



3. If you could describe your experience in the Yonsei GMBA program as a scent, what would it be and why?


I would say Chanel No. 5 because I know everyone in our class will be as successful and iconic as the perfume! 4. What has been the most enjoyable part of the program for you?


I did my undergrad at Princeton where there was no business school, so studying at Yonsei has been a crucial step toward my dream of carving out my place in the global cosmetics industry. I always had the passion, but now I am confident in my ability to be a strong performer in the working world, and for that, I am very grateful to Yonsei. Also, living in South Korea has helped me develop a strong understanding of the East Asian markets, an exposure which will be indispensable.



121 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page