top of page

[Humans of GMBA 2022] #4 Josanni Martinez - USA


Josanni Martinez is the Corporate Liaison & Events Coordinator of the GMBA Class of 2022's Student Council. She is also the Secretary of the SKY Intercultural Club, and currently working as an intern at Hana Bank.


1. What do you like about your graduate school life?


Taking a step back, if someone were to tell me a year ago that I would be pursuing a second Master’s degree at one of the most prestigious schools South Korea has to offer … I wouldn’t believe it. Yet here I am embarking on a new journey, in a foreign place, with only a few Korean phrases at my disposal.


Since the moment I stepped out of the plane from the U.S. and onto campus I have only been surround by wonderful people and positive experiences. Academically, I have been challenged, but I am grateful for all that I have been able to learn so far and the intellectual conversations I have been able to exchange with my peers and faculty.


Coming from a Communication background, the age demographic within my previous Master’s program has never been as diverse as it is in Yonsei’s Global MBA program. This has not only provided a multicultural learning environment, but I have also been able to gather useful insights from established professionals from various industry backgrounds. While it has only been a few months since I’ve started this program, I have already formed bonds that I know will last a lifetime. Until then, I am enjoying this new journey and all of the new experiences that come with it.


2. What event or decision do you think most affected the rest of your life?


Sports have definitely played a huge role in my life. From an early age, I have always participated in athletic teams whether it was to represent my school or leisurely. Among the many benefits I have acquired from participating in sports, it has also taught me that along with hard work and dedication, one must also possess perseverance in order to accomplish one’s goals. This was definitely put to test during last year while I was in the U.S. I was in an accelerated program as a full time undergraduate and graduate student taking 18 credits (6 being grad credits), working, and a member of the university’s Track & Field team. This caused me to be on campus for a maximum of 17 hours a day training and studying. Although there were many sleepless nights, it was still one of the best years of my college life. Now, I continue to apply that mindset in my current program at Yonsei. Although the pandemic has definitely become a barrier to participating in sporting events, I look forward to being able to hopefully in the near future. In the meantime, I keep myself occupied with at home workouts and building my own personal mini gym.



3. What is the best advice that you could give someone?

I would say never be afraid to put yourself in uncomfortable situations, even if that means you are taking a leap of faith. The problem that stems from avoiding this is missed opportunities and the inability to grow as an individual. When you are so used to being in your comfort zone, you unknowingly box yourself into one mindset or way of living. With uncomfortable situations, you are forced to either find a new way or fail while trying. Either way, character development is in effect!



129 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page